Join ABC Friends NSW & ACT

ABC Friends NSW & ACT - get involved!

If you are renewing your membership or changing your details and have a password login here, otherwise please click here and complete the Membership form.

About Us

The Friends of the ABC NSW (Inc.), also known as ABC Friends NSW & ACT, was established in 1976 to defend the ABC against funding cuts by the Coalition government of the day. Since then, the Friends has defended the ABC against threats from both Labor and Coalition governments to compromise its independence and reduce its funding.

To achieve our aims we:

  • make submissions to government
  • lobby individual members of parliament
  • provide informed comment about the ABC to the media
  • hold discussions with the ABC Managing Director and Chairman of the Board
  • address community groups
  • organise activities in support of the ABC
  • provide opportunities to socialise with like-minded people
  • encourage members to make their views about the ABC known to their Federal Member of Parliament
  • provide facilitation for members to engage with their local Federal MP

For the ABC Friends NSW & ACT Vision Statement click here

For the constitution of Friends of the ABC (NSW) Incorporated click here.


General Enquiries: nsw@abcfriends.org.au

Membership Enquiries: membership_nswact@abcfriends.org.au

Postal Address: PO Box 1391 North Sydney NSW 2059

Phone: 02 9990 0600 (This is a MessageBank service, which is checked regularly, but not every day)

Facebook: @abcfriendsnsw  

Regional Branches

In many areas of NSW & ACT there are local branches of ABC Friends.  You may wish to become involved at a local level - for regional branch details click here.

ABC Friends NSW & ACT 2018/19 Office Holders & Committee

President Ed DavisVice President Mal HewittSecretary Angela WilliamsonTreasurer/Public Officer Margaret WhealyEvents & Recruitment Jason LoweMembership Secretary - Leighanne Hunt






Committee Members

  • Ireen Allanson
  • Geoff Brann
  • James Buchanan
  • Sybille Frank
  • Russell Lansbury
  • Peter Lindenmayer
  • Diana Wyndham
  • Cassandra Parkinson