ABC Friends National Inc.

ABC Friends National Inc.

National Organisation

ABC Friends National Inc. is the peak body representing ABC Friends and Friends of the ABC organisations throughout Australia. 

The aims of ABC Friends National are: 

  • To represent community interest in Australia’s national public broadcaster, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) to ensure: 
    • that the ABC is properly funded to maintain and advance its role as the national public broadcaster in all media, promoting and reflecting Australian culture and diversity 
    • that it remains editorially independent of government and commercial interests. 
  • And to inform the Australian public about issues affecting the national public broadcaster. 

ABC Friends is not aligned to any political party, but is a lobby group that works on behalf of listeners and viewers of ABC radio and television as well as users of the various ABC digital platforms. 

ABC Friends National Inc. Rules are available here

ABC Friends National Inc. Committee 2019 

Office Holders 


President 

Margaret Reynolds 
Tasmania 
president@abcfriends.org.au 

 

 


Vice President 

Ed Davis
NSW/ACT
vice-president@abcfriends.org.au

 

 


Treasurer 

Kate Durkin
Tasmania
treasurer@abcfriends.org.au

 

 


Secretary 

Bobbie Mackley 
Western Australia 
secretary@abcfriends.org.au 

 

 


Committee Members: 

  • Cathy Bardon – Western Australia
  • Sue Pinnock – South Australia & NT
  • Sandra Coopman – South Australia & NT
  • Bill Condon - Victoria
  • Peter Monie - Victoria
  • Mal Hewitt - NSW & ACT
  • Ross McDowell – Queensland
  • Kent Eising – Queensland

Contact Us 

For Media Comment 

National Spokespeople:  

Margaret Reynolds - 0447 735 156 - media@abcfriends.org.au

Ranald Macdonald - 0424 545 516 - media1@abcfriends.org.au

Membership & Other Enquiries

Membership: Click 'Contact' at the top of this page and select your State

Website Administratoradmin@abcfriends.org.au

Postal Address: ABC Friends National Inc. PO Box 3620 Manuka ACT 2603